Travel

There is always a light at the end of the tunnel.

Inverted Tower, Quinta da Regaleria, Sintra, Portugal.

Inverted Tower, Quinta da Regaleria, Sintra, Portugal.

Being single after a seven year relationship is tough. Your way of life changes in a single second. After always thinking for two, asking for a table at restaurants for two, booking plane tickets for two even getting a hotel room for two now is reduced to one. Can it be easy to recover your identity after always having to think for two? When will it become normal to just be comfortable by yourself? Is there a specific time where you will be back to your normal self?

That is why I chose todays picture, I took it when I visited with my ex the impressive park of Quinta de la Regaleira in Sintra, Portugal. Walking through the park, there are many exotic plants. There are natural spring waters coming from the hill, and inside a tiny grotto, there is a statue of Leda. Following one of the many roads, there is a big grotto out of the blue. To reach the light out of the cavern, you need to go through a dark passage and at the end of the tunnel you see the inverted tower with seven floors climbing to the light. There are some stairs that are complete but others are missing some pieces. Its a gloomy and unique experience. I truly recommend this park if your in Sintra, Portugal.

Inside the Grotto leading to the Inverted Tower

Inside the Grotto leading to the Inverted Tower

This brings into perspective, how the process of ending a relationship works. Consider the park to be your life, there are many roads to reach different sections of it. Each road represents a time in your life with your couple. If you are happy and fully satisfied in your relationship you reach the end of the park. But if your going through a road and several situations in life make you see a grotto, an opening to something unknown and you see a light at the end of it. You must take it to find your happiness. That light at the end of the tunnel is your happiness. There will be many troubles along the way. But you will reach the light, reach true happiness.

Climbed the Inverted Tower to the top.

Climbed the Inverted Tower to the top.

I began this blog, to tell my process of how this unfolds for me. I will be posting pictures of my past trips and current trips and relate the image to an experience that im going through. This may help followers who are going through a similar experience, or at least get a different perspective. I will not try to pursue anyone. This may help any person who is stuck in a tumultuous relationship. I am writing it because this will be a life chaining moment for me. I was going to be engaged. I was the one to propose.  My identity was lost and my happiness became my couple’s happiness. I forgot about myself.

Standard

13 thoughts on “There is always a light at the end of the tunnel.

Leave a Reply

